Back to blog home

Introducing T-levels

By: Haydon Anstis

T-levels: What are they?

As of September 2020, there will be a new range of courses being introduced across the educational board for 16-18 year olds, these will be known as T-levels.

The courses will run over two years and have been specifically developed for employers and businesses to meet the needs of industry, and will help prepare young people for life after education.

Dissimilar to A-Levels, T-Levels will offer a combination of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience which will involve a minimum of 315 hours of industry placement. During this time students will gain essential experience within a workplace and gain skills that will help them become better prepared for higher education/apprenticeships and employment.

When will they start?

The first 3 T-Levels will be available at selected colleges and schools (providers) across England in September 2020. This means pupils who entered year 10 in September 2018 will be the first to be able to study them.

You can see a list of the providers who will be offering the first courses here.

First 3 courses:
• digital production, design and development
• design, surveying and planning
• education

What T-level qualifications will there be?

Students will be able to take a T-level qualification in the following areas:
• Accountancy
• Agriculture, land management and production
• Animal care and management
• Building services engineering
• Catering
• Craft and design
• Cultural heritage and visitor attractions
• Design, development and control
• Design, surveying and planning
• Digital business services
• Digital production, design and development
• Digital support and services
• Education
• Financial
• Hair, beauty and aesthetics
• Health
• Healthcare science
• Human resources
• Legal
• Maintenance, installation and repair
• Management and administration
• Manufacturing and process
• Media, broadcast and production
• On-site construction
• Science

Are T-levels different from apprenticeships?

Apprenticeships tend to involve around 80% of the students’ time being spent in the workplace, and just 20% studying towards the qualification. T-levels, however, include far more study time and only around 45 days (315 hours) spent in the workplace.

UCAS tariff points

T-level students will also benefit from allocated UCAS tariff points which will help get them into higher education.

UCAS tariff points T-level overall grade A-level
168 Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) AAA*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above on the core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E on the core) DDD

Why are T-levels being introduced?

T-levels are being developed due to the skills shortage that the UK labour market is currently going through. The T-level courses will overall help produce fresh talent and raise the students’ career aspirations whilst ensuring they are ready for the world of work.

To find out more on T-levels click here.

nav close Created with Sketch.

Sign up for updates

…for relevant info and news
straight to your inbox.

Sign me up